0° F

June 12, 2012

Greenwood Town Board Meeting  –  June 12, 2012

Chr. Reichel called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.

Present:  Chr. Reichel, Vice-Chr. DeLuca, Supervisors Aro, Baland, Doroff, Treasurer Clark, Clerk Trancheff

               MOTION Doroff/DeLuca to approve the May 5, 8, 10 meeting minutes.  Approved 5/0

MOTION Aro/Baland approving the Treasurer’s Report:  Checking-$244,771.70/Long Term Investments-$249,247.10/Savings-$192,733.09.  Approved 5/0

MOTION Baland/Aro to pay Claims #14602-14659 including payroll totaling $33,267.41.  Approved 5/0

MOTION DeLuca/Doroff to pay fixed bills and payroll July 1.  Approved 5/0

The Deputy Treasurer is Jodi Backman, Deputy Clerk is Deb Siverhus.  The Treasurer and Clerk will talk to the bank about the signatures.

Fire Dept:  Fire Chief Kregness explained that the runs were up by 50% for the same months as last year.  Matt Tuchel is the new Tower Ambulance Director.  Still working on the interventions and will be speaking to Dr. Petinnelli, Mapping Project still being worked on, MSA Flo Tests are done, billing for the Highway #1 Fire outside of Ely was $2,137.00, Applied for the DNR matching grant of $3000 and the AFG Grant for $129,600 will be applied for-due July 6.  Dane Consulting will do the grant for $1500 with half to be reimbursed by the IRRRB. The Dept. will not honor the request of 2 pieces of apparatus for the Tower Soudan 4th of July but will send one in as in the past.  A request for two new sets of FF turnout gear not to exceed $4000.

               MOTION DeLuca/Doroff authorizing application to the DNR for the 50/50 matching grant in the amount of $3,000 for wildland equipment, hose and nozzles, pagers and radios.  Approved 5/0

               MOTION Aro/Baland authorizing application to the AFG Grant in the amount of $129,600 for SCBA equipment and hose with the township contribution of 15%.  Scott Dane will write the grant for $1500.  Approved 5/0

               MOTION DeLuca/Doroff to pay Dane Consulting $1500 for the AFG Grant Writing with 50% reimbursement request to be submitted to the IRRRB.  Approved 5/0

               MOTION DeLuca/Doroff authorizing the purchase of two new sets of turnout gear not to exceed $4000.   Approved 5/0

Correspondence:  Complaint about BayView music on deck till 1:30 am on June 10, Acknowledgement of Bois Forte/Greenwood Fire Protection meeting on October 9 with Tom Aro, Carmen DeLuca and Scott Kregness attending at Nett Lake.


               MOTION Reichel/Aro to approve the Fire Protection Agreement with St. Louis County for 2013 for a fee of $7000.  Approved 5/0

               MOTION Doroff/DeLuca to approve the application of Christopher Vouk for a community enhancement loan for a new septic system estimated at $10000 subject to the condition that the loan application has a lien provision in the event of non-payment.  Approved 5/0

Supervisor E-mail:  Board members agreed to send the clerk their choice of email addresses that would be published to the website.

               MOTION Aro/Doroff to donate $100 to the Tower Soudan 4th of July.  Approved 5/0

               MOTION DeLuca/Doroff to authorize $25 to the Timberjay for Tower Soudan 4th of July Activities to be in the paper twice.  Approved 5/0

Safety-Peg Nelson reminded everyone to drive slowly.
Maintenance-Pat Trancheff busy as usual-gave a synopsis.
Clerk/Assessor-Would be getting estimates of printing a PID map for the office.
Supervisor Aro-Asked the treasurer, clerk and planning director to get an idea of what is involved in the records retention program and asked about the status of Dark Sky for the Planning Commission? 
Supervisor Baland-Is investigating if there is need for sealcoating the trail-discussion from Supervisor DeLuca was that the highway engineers don’t think it should be done, rather crack filling.  Supervisor Baland will get more information.

               MOTION Baland/Aro to adjourn at 7:45 pm.

 Respectfully Submitted,


Ellen Trancheff-Clerk                                                                        Kirsten Reichel-Chairperson